The name of the small town, probably comes from the Latin asinus (donkey); indeed, in the past, the surrounding countryside was full of farmers who raised donkeys; hence it was called Asinaia. Some argue, however, that the name may derive (like Siena) from the Hebrew "Sen" which means peak, high ground, or from "Sepu" which translated is: irrigated. Indeed the area is rich in water; also the latter case would justify the other name by which the fraction is called, that is Sepaia.

The village consists of a few houses, built of stone of Tuscan origin, who have been joined by other newly built. The place does not have a church nor its cemetery, but it is located along the road to the Sanctuary of the Madonna of Bagno and near the abbey of Sant'Andrea al Pozzo della Pieve in Retina and the suppressed convent of St. Christopher. The road leading to the Sanctuary of Madonna of Bagno has been enriched by fifteen tabernacles, built in 1988 by the artist Tommaso Musarra, each depicting a Mystery of the Rosary, so as to allow for those who want to bear walking from Castiglion Fiorentino to the Madonna del Bagno, to recite the entire crown, stopping at every station.

The sanctuary of the Madonna of Bagno is located at the point where, according to Catholic tradition, the Virgin appeared and from where a source gushed curative water. Initially it was a small oratory that was replaced, between 1524 and 1527, from a building that remained unfinished. It was enlarged in 1711, but the current building, a Latin cross with a vaulted ceiling, was reconstructed in the years 1874-87 by the architect Pietro Mancini of Castiglion Fiorentino.

 


 

The use of ancient materials was the absolute prerogative for us. In fact, for the construction of the house, we used recovered materials, found and accumulated over the years in our countryside, from the brick floor, which has a rectangular shape in the kitchen, while, in the living room, the shape is square.
The tiles of the roof are in terracotta as well, mounted on sight along with the chestnut wood.
The arches are made of old bricks and stones, such as the steps (called "sticks", due to their shape) which are used to connect the living room to the kitchen.

 


 

The area designed for the oven is very pleasant. Built in close proximity to the house, made of local stone and brick, with plastered and colored parts of a nice red, it has a comfortable structure to prepare the dishes. It gives and enriches the outside, thanks to the cover with a roof, which has the function of protection on rainy days, where it is always possible to use the oven suitable for the preparation of pizzas or the barbecue alongside.

 


 

The pool was placed in an east-west position where during the long summer is sunny from 6 am to 21 pm. This light is particularly suitable for enjoying the view in complete relaxation, as it offers a magnificent view overlooking the valley and the town of Castiglion Fiorentino.

 

A feature truly curious and unique are the swallows. These migratory birds, during the days of June (the brightest of the entire year), in the morning and in the evening they come close to the villa and with planar and elengant flights, can be seen circling in the sky. At the appropriate time considering that they are very reserved, and if there is no one in the pool, they feel safe and swoop down to drink.

 

Contact Us
captcha
Reload

This site uses cookies to improve the browsing experience of the visitor.
We invite you to adjust the settings on your browser, depending on your preferences.